YLI National

The Young Leaders for Indonesia was launched in 2008 and continues today under the name of YLI National. Since its inception, the National program has developed a pool of 401 top talents. YLI National is an annual program conducted in Jakarta with top Indonesian students chosen to participate through a rigorous selection process. The program’s participants are represented by ~30 universities from across Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore.

Over the course of the six-month program, the YLI National participants attended the three forums with Lead Self, Lead Team and Lead Change as the respective themes, and with the PLP and BLP assignments in between forums. Besides engaging the participants in training modules and project development and management experiences, we also invite prominent Indonesian leaders to share their personal leadership paths. Speakers in the YLI National included: Anies Baswedan (Minister of Education and Culture), Ignasius Jonan (Minister of Transportation), Basuki T. Purnama (Governor of DKI Jakarta), Gita Wirjawan (Former Minister of Trade), Kuntoro Mangkusubroto (President Commissioner of PT PLN), Alexander Rusli (President Director and CEO of Indosat), Handry Satriago (CEO of GE Indonesia), Fuad Rahmany (Director General of Tax, Ministry of Finance), Martha Tilaar (Founder and Owner of Martha Tilaar Group), John Riady (Director of Lippo Group),  Budi Sadikin (CEO of Bank Mandiri) and others.

Information session and selection are usually conducted in January – March, while the Forums are usually scheduled between April and September. All participant expenses related to the YLI National are borne by the Foundation. The Program capacity is currently 60 students per year. Selection criteria for the program are: third or fourth year university students with minimum GPA 3.3/4.0; excellent leadership experience, and fluency in English.